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Why is it confusing?

BOOT Rule is not very complicated, but it has a
couple of wrinkles
Has been misunderstood or misapplied by
Players
Managers
Umpires
A league president!
Poorly worded before 1957

Occurs infrequently




BOOTs by decade, 1901-2018
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Fewer than one a year since 1951
Ones shown on Retrosheet web site
More keep being discovered

Most recent one was May 9, 2018.

Retrosheet BOOT page:
https://www.retrosheet.org/outturn.htm

Some are technically not BOOTSs, but have similar
characteristics (see web page for details).



Some causes

Manager changes his mind just before game
and fails to post changed lineup card in dugout

Lineup on scoreboard is not right

Players are used to batting in a certain order,
but it is changed

Confusion after double switch
“Faux” double switch

Batter who makes last out of an inning forgets
and comes up to start next inning

Faux double switch has happened when there was a pinch
hitter (for the pitcher) who reached base and was run for.
The pinch runner stays in the game and goes to the field. If
he bats in the spot of the replaced fielder rather than the
one where he pinch ran, it is a BOOT.

HP ump will assume that players coming into the game bat
in the same spot as the positions of the ones they replaced
or moved to the position unless the manager goes out and
tells the ump what the new batting order is. Players coming
into the game may not realize there was a double switch
and will come up out of order unless the manager or the
coach tells them not to.



Current Rule (6.07)

Adopted in 1957
Covers all possibilities with many examples
Prior versions poorly worded and not complete

Before game each team gives its lineup to the
home plate ump and a copy to the other team

Will use the term “proper” batter (as in rule) for
the one who should be hitting




Improper batter (1)

Umpire and official scorer will NOT point it out
Team can replace with proper batter before
plate appearance is finished

No penalty

Proper batter inherits the count on the improper
batter

What can happen if improper batter completes
his plate appearance?

Official scorer does not get a copy of the lineup given to

the umpire and other team, so may not know if an improper
batter comes up.



Improper batter (2)

Basic rule:

If BOOT is called, play is nullified, proper batter
is out, next in lineup after proper one bats

If BOOT play is accepted, lineup position resets
and proper next batter is the one who follows
the improper one in the lineup




Improper batter (3)

It is up to team in field to appeal the BOOT

If appeal is made and BOQOT is enforced:
PROPER batter is called out (scored C unassisted)
Any runners return to bases before the play
Advancement (SB, WP, PB) before play stands
One common mistake: improper batter is called out

Team will usually appeal when batter reaches
base or scores a runner

That may not be the best thing to do

Will see some examples of when it would be better to let
the improper batter reach base.



Improper batter (4)

Team may accept the play
usually when improper batter makes an out
may be times when should accept batter reaching

If play is accepted, proper next batter is the one
who follows the improper one in the lineup

Possible confusion: who should bat next

Some batter(s) may be skipped

A batter might come up soon for a second time
in an inning

Can appeal in a later inning if same BOOT

Strange things can happen due to lineup position being
reset. One or more batters may come up more often than
normal and others may miss a turn at the plate.

It 1s possible that batter due up is on base. In such a
case, his turn at bat is skipped and the next player in the
order bats. (Don’t know if this has ever happened or how it
was dealt with, such as a courtesy runner.)

Contrived example of how a player could get two hits in
an inning due to a BOOT. Assume the pitcher is not batting
ninth (DH or sometimes in NL game) and manager
interchanges the “normal” #2 and #9 hitters. Lead off batter
hits a homer and normal #2 batting #9 in the lineup comes
up and makes an out. Team in field does not appeal and
team batting realizes what has happened. So #1 hitter is
now the proper batter and comes up and gets a hit.



Earlier versions of rule (1)

Original rule in 1876:

Any batsman failing to take his position at the
bat in his order of striking--unless by reason of
iliness or injury, or by consent of the captains of

opposing nines—shall be declared out,
unless the error is discovered before a fair ball
has been struck, or the striker put out.

Proper batter is the one out

Improper batter can be replaced before plate
appearance is finished

Substitutions were not allowed in original rules except as
shown in the rule.
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Earlier versions of rule (2)

Revision in 1895:

The batsman is out if he fails to take his position at the
bat in his order of batting, unless the error be
discovered and the proper batsman takes his position
before a time “at bat" recorded; and in such case the
balls and strikes called must be counted in the time “at
bat" of the proper batsman, and only the proper
batsman shall be declared out: Provided, this rule shail
not take effect unless the out is declared before the ball
is delivered to the succeading batsman, and no runs
shall be scored or bases run, and further, and no outs
shall be courted other than that of the proper batsrman.

Adds that proper batter may come up with inherited ball-
strike count.

Adds that appeal or out on BOOT must be made before
next at bat starts

Only one out on an enforced BOOT. So if the improper
batter or a runner is out on the play (and an appeal would
be desirable if a run scored on the play), those outs do not
count since the play is completely nullified.

English teachers’ nightmare. Rule against using more than
one sentence?!
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Earlier versions of rule (3)

Revision in 1898:

Adds “Should the batsman declared out by this
rule be sufficient to retire the side, the proper
batsman the next inning is the player who
would have come to bat had the players beer
out by ordinary play.”

Possibly confusing, but implies batter in lineup
who follows one called out comes up next
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Earlier versions of rule (4)

Do not specify mechanics of the appeal
Can umpire enforce it without other team’s appeal?

1876 rule does not say it must be before first pitch to
next batter

Do not fully say who proper next batter is if play
is accepted and rule is not applied

1957 rule codified the understandings that had
developed over the years
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Dumbest appeal?

LAN at PHI, 5/4/1980, first inning, runners on
first and second, one out

Ron Cey (#5) is due up, Dusty Baker (#6) bats

Hits into a force out a second, but Dallas Green
points out the BOOT

Cey is called out and Baker hits 3-run homer
Green claimed both force and Cey out count
Argues, is ejected, protests game (denied)
Dodgers win 12-10

If Green accepts the Baker play, only good things can
happen:

1) If Cey comes up to hit next, the BOOT protects against
most anything bad (runner scores on WP, PB could
happen) and will result in the third out.

2) Proper next batter is Bill Russell, who is not nearly as
dangerous a hitter as Baker if Dodgers figure out what
happened.

3) May be able to appeal a BOOT later in game if the two
continue to bat in the reverse order.
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McCarver is too clever

ATL at PHI, 6/9/1972

Marty Perez (#8) makes last out in top of sixth,
but comes up to lead off the seventh

After first pitch, McCarver points out BOOT

Braves send of pinch hitter for pitcher with 1-0
count

If Perez makes an out, Braves likely send up
pinch hitter for pitcher next—proper batter—so
getting to top of the order is delayed by a batter

Phillies sent seven batters to the plate, including a pinch
hitter, in the bottom of the sixth and scored two runs to tie
the game. If it was a long and hard inning, Perez may have
forgotten he made the last out in the top of the inning.
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Most confusion ever (1)

DET at PHA, 5/24/1945

In prior games and on scoreboard, A’s had
George Kell bat 5t, Irv Hall 6t

In this game they were reversed

With one out bases empty in second, Kell
(improper) Ks, so Tigers don't protest

Hall singles and Tigers point out BOOT

HP ump Ed Rommel rules third out of inning

Newspaper showing likely lineup had Kell #5, Hall #6.

Tigers should have accepted Hall’s single since it is almost
certain the #7 hitter would come up next, but Kell would be
the proper hitter. So there would be virtually no risk to
letting the #7 hit (only if somehow Hall managed to score
before the batter’s play). Likely that Kell and Hall would
BOOT in later innings, so the appeal could be saved for a
more valuable use.

In general, with two outs, it will be better not to appeal a
BOOT (as in the Dodgers-Phillies game) unless a run
scored on the play.
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Most confusion ever (2)

Not clear who was called out, but apparently it
was Hall

#7 hitter, Dick Siebert should have been out
with #8 hitter Frankie Hayes leading off third
After conferring with umpires, managers,
Rommel rules that Kell leads off third (consistent
will Hall being ruled out)!

All 3 had been umps since 1938

Both managers say that is wrong and issue
protests of the game

Even experienced umpires are not always understanding
the BOOT rule. The two base umpires, George Pipgras and
Bill Grieve had each been in a game with a BOOT, but not
HP ump Rommel.
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Most confusion ever (3)

A’s win game 7-2, so Connie Mack withdraws his
protest
Rommel says after game that he made a

mistake having Kell lead off without providing
details

AL president Will Harridge denies protest

says Rommel was wrong to have Kell lead off

says Tigers had to appeal before Hall was pitched to
(even if it not in team’s interest to point out Kell)

Nothing in rule says that

Kell made an out, but A’s scored a run in the inning.

Protest should have been upheld once it is agreed that
wrong batter led off inning.

Other reason is irrelevant as well as being incorrect.
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Most confusion ever (4)

Sporting News story before Harridge’s ruling
asks several “experts” who should have led off

About half incorrectly say Siebert (#7 hitter)
Tigers manager Steve O'Neill thought that
About half had it correct

Tigers won pennant and World Series that year,
so not having loss wiped out did not hurt much

Article in Baseball Research Journal, Spring
2013 (Vol. 42, No. 1)

I wrote about this game in that article. There were some
other interesting aspects and occurrences in it.
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When not to appeal

It may be better to let improper batter get on
Most likely with two outs

Example in game with pitcher batting 9t
2 outs in second inning with nobody on
#7 comes up in #6 spot and reaches base

If #6 hitter comes up next, he is BOOT since #8 is
now proper hitter, so no risk letting #6 hit

If #6 gets on, appeal so #8 is out, pitcher starts 3rd

If #6 makes out ending inning, most likely #8 comes
up to start third, but is BOOT since #7 is proper

Since BOOTs are so infrequent, will a manager/bench
coach/analytics department will spend time trying to figure
these out or actually apply one? Earl Weaver did based on
what he did and didn’t do in 5/28/69, BAL @ SEA. Pilots
changed their lineup quite a bit after giving the card to the
umpire. Weaver did not point out the (many) prior BOOTs
until the fifth inning when he could get runs (two) taken off
the board. Too complicated to discuss in the talk.

If #6 gets on and no appeal (since other runner did not
score), #7 1s proper hitter, but is on base. So #8 becomes
proper hitter, and he likely would come up. So need to
appeal.

BOOT is an important strategic advantage for the other
team. Can “keep” in its pocket for use later in the game if it
looks like it will be repeated as Weaver did.
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Web sites, e-mail

https://www.retrosheet.org/outturn.htm
has list of BOOTs, some are amazing

www. pankin.com/baseball.htm

E-mail: sabr --ATsign-- pankin.com

Plan to post slides, notes on my web site
and on Retrosheet.org Research page

My baseball page focuses on the mathematical Markov model and its applications,
the most “famous” of which is optimizing the batting order.

Replace --ATsign-- with @
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