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Why is it confusing?

BOOT Rule is not very complicated, but it has a
couple of wrinkles
Has been misunderstood or misapplied by
Players
Managers
Umpires
A league president!

Occurs infrequently, fewer than one a year since
1950 (last one was in 2018)




Some causes

Lineup card given to home plate ump is not the
same as what is posted in the dugout

Lineup on scoreboard is not right

Players are used to batting in a certain order,
but it is changed

Confusion after double switch
Faux double switch

Faux double switch has happened when there was a pinch
hitter (for the pitcher) who reached base and was run for.
The pinch runner staysin the game and goesto the field. If
he bats in the spot of the replaced fielder rather than the one
where he pinch ran, it isaBOOT.

HP ump will assume that players coming into the game bat
in the same spot as the positions of the ones they replaced

or moved to the position unless the manager goes out and
tells the ump what the new batting order is. Players coming
into the game may not realize there was a double switch and
will come up out of order unless the manager or the coach
tells them not to.



Current Rule (6.07)

Adopted in 1957
Covers all possibilities with many examples
Prior versions poorly worded and not complete

Before game each team gives its lineup to the
home plate ump and a copy to the other team
Will use the term “proper” batter (as in rule) for
the one who should be hitting




Improper batter (1)

Umpire and official scorer will NOT point it out
Team can replace with proper batter before
plate appearance is finished

No penalty

Proper batter inherits the count on the improper
batter

What can happen if improper batter completes
his plate appearance?

Official scorer does not get a copy of the lineup given to the
umpire and other team, so may not know if an improper
batter comes up.



Improper batter (2)

Basic rule:

If BOOT is called, play is nullified, proper batter
is out, next in lineup after proper one bats

If BOOT play is accepted, lineup position resets
and proper next batter is the one who follows
the improper one in the lineup




Improper batter (3)

It is up to team in field to appeal the BOOT
If appeal is made and BOOT is enforced:
PROPER batter is called out (scored C unassisted)
Any runners return to bases before the play
Advancement (SB, WP, PB) before play stands
One common mistake: improper batter is called out
Team will usually appeal when batter reaches
base or scores a runner

That may not be the best thing to do

Will see some examples of when it would be better to let
the improper batter reach base.



Improper batter (4)

Team may accept the play
usually when improper batter makes an out
may be times when should accept batter reaching

If play is accepted, proper next batter is the one
who follows the improper one in the lineup

Possible confusion: who should bat next
Some batter(s) may be skipped

A batter might come up soon for a second time
in an inning

Strange things can happen due to lineup position being
reset. One or more batters may come up more often than
normal and others may miss aturn at the plate.

It is possible that batter due up ison base. In such a case,
histurn at bat is skipped and the next player in the order
bats. (Don't know if this has ever happened or how it was
dealt with, such as a courtesy runner.)

Contrived example of how a player could get two hitsin
an inning due to a BOOT. Assume the pitcher is not batting
ninth (DH or sometimesin NL game) and manager
interchanges the “normal” #2 and #9 hitters. Lead off batter
hits a homer and normal #2 batting #9 in the lineup comes
up and makes an out. Team in field does not appeal and
team batting realizes what has happened. So #1 hitter is
now the proper batter and comes up and gets a hit.



Strange things can happen

Some players may have too few or too many
plate appearances
Batter may be skipped
Batter may hit twice in an inning
Two HRs by same hitter with only one batter in
between is possible (contrived example)
#2 and #8 in official lineup switch (has happened!)
Leadoff hitter homers, #8 hitter makes an out next
#3 hitter comes up and gets on, BOOT is enforced
#9 hitter called out, #1 hitter comes up and homers




When not to appeal

Better to let improper batter get on with two
outs if no runs and improper batter coming up
5/9/2018, Mets at Reds

Lineup card in dugout not same as official one

#1 is out, #3 comes up next and makes an out

#2 (A. Cabrera) hits next and doubles

Reds protest the #4 (J. Bruce) is correct batter, and
he is called out to end inning wiping out the 2B

Bruce comes up next, no risk to letting him hit if he
gets on since #3 is proper batter

If Bruce makes an out, #3 (Flores) may BOOT again

One effect of what happened, #1 Nimmo has 5 PA, #2
Cabrera has 3, and #3 Flores has 4 (illustrates strange
effect)
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When not to appeal

It may be better to let improper batter get on
Most likely with two outs

Example in game with pitcher batting 9t
2 outs in second inning with nobody on
#7 comes up in #6 spot and reaches base

If #6 hitter comes up next, he is BOOT since #8 is
now proper hitter, so no risk letting #6 hit

If #6 gets on, appeal so #8 is out, pitcher starts 3rd

If #6 makes out ending inning, most likely #8 comes
up to start third, but is BOOT since #7 is proper

If #6 gets on and no appeal (since other runner did not
score), #7 is proper hitter, but is on base. So #8 becomes
proper hitter, and he likely would come up. So need to

appeal.

BOOT isan important strategic advantage for the other
team. Can “keep” in its pocket for use later in the gameif it
looks like it will be repeated as Weaver did in game to be
shown |ater.
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Pinch hit for “wrong” man

Giants at Cubs, 9/16/1949

Due to a “faux double switch” Cubs P Rush was
#8, 2B Verban #9 in the bottom of the 10th
(since Verban PR in 9t, stayed in game)

1st and 34, 2 outs, game tied. Rush is due up
but Verban bats and walks. Giants do not object
Mickey Owen pinch hits, NOT for #9 (thought to
be Rush) but for #1, 3B Bob Ramazzotti

Owen singles to win game, avoiding the “fun” if
the game had continued

If Owen had made an out, when Ramazzotti took the field,
the umpire would have told him that he was no longer in the
game (and Owen was the current 3B). Cubs manager Frisch
likely would have not been pleased, to say the least.

If game situation had been that Owen'’s play would not end
the inning, then Ramazzotti would come up to bat, but the
home plate umpire would point out that Owen had hit for
him and the #2 batter was up.

These assume the HP ump knew what was going on, which
he should since he is supposed to mark his lineup card with
the changes.
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Earl Weaver BOOTs SEA (1)

5/28/69: Orioles at Pilots, McNally in, Palmer out
Joe Schultz gives wrong lineup card to ump

Dugout Given to HP ump Simpson comes
Harper 2B |Hamper 2B out to CF in top
|[Simpson CF |Hegan  RF of 1st

Comer RF Davis LF Unannounced
Davis LF Mncher 1B | gh goes in #4
Gil 3B [Comer CF ¢

_ spot in order
Hegan 1B Gil 3B

McNertney C McNertney C
Oyler SS Oyler SS
Marshall P Marshall P

Earl Weaver told Schultz 45 minutes before the game about
the pitching change, from aRHPto aLHP,

In TSN article, Weaver said he was afraid someone in the
press box would notice and call Schultz or that Schultz
would realize the mistake and go to the correct order.

Since Mincher isthe only player replaced, Simpson goes
into the #4 spot.
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Earl Weaver BOOTs SEA (2)

Lineups now are Orioles score 1 in
Dugout Official top of first
Haper 2B |Haper 2B Bottom of first:
Simpson CF |[Hegan 1B Simpson walks,
Comer RF ||Davis LF steals second
Davis LF ||Simpson CF Weaver does not
< 38 ||Comer R KrgFfzti:‘ a gamble

- i

Hegan 18_J|G 38 since Comer is the
McNertney C McNertrney C proper batter
Oyler SS  [Oyler SS Comer fans, Davis
Marshall P Marshall P grounds out

Weaver must fedl like akid in a candy shop, but he can only
have one piece. He wants it to be areally good one. The
risk is that the shop closes up early (SEA discoversthe
problem) before he can get it. Nullifying the walk and
having Hegan called out and then having Daviscome up is
not tasty enough for Earl.



Earl Weaver BOOTs SEA (3)

Lineups now are Orioles score 3 in
Dugout Official top of second
Harper 2B  |Haper 2B Bottom of second:
Simpson  CF ||Hegan 1B Gil, Hegan out
Comer RF ||Davis LF McNertney singles
Davis LF Simpson CF No protest
Gil 3B ||Comer RF Gamble loses as
Hegan 1B ||Gil 3B Oyler, proper
McNertney C McNertney C batter, homers to

make score 4-2
Oyler SS  |Oyler SS Marshall walks and
Marshal P |Marshall P arsiial Waiks an

is picked off 1st

A possible reason not to protest is that Davis would be
called out and Simpson would lead off the third, which puts
higher up hitters up rather than going through the bottom of
the order. Oyler isavery weak hitter, only 1 HR in 1968,
career of .175/.28/.251 and never had a SL G above 0.300 in
6 year career.
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Lineups now are

Dugout Official

Harper 2B |Hamper 2B
Simpson CF  ||Hegan 1B
Comer  RF ||Davis LF
Davis LF Simpson CF
Gil 3B [|[Comer RF
Hegan 1B ||Gil 3B
VeNertney C VeNertrey C
Oyler SS  |Oyler SS
Marshal P MVershal P

Earl Weaver BOOTs SEA (4)

Orioles score 1 in
the third

Bottom of third:

Harper walks and
steals 2nd

Next three make
outs
Orioles score in 4
in fourth to go
ahead 9-2

Talbot in to pitch

Similar to what happened in the first.
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Lineups now are

Dugout Official

Haper 2B  |Hamper 2B
Simpson CF |[|Hegan 1B
Comer RF | |Davis LF
Davis LF |[|[Simpson CF
Gil 3B ||Comer RF
Hegan 1B ||G 3B
McNerirey C McNertney C
Oyler SS  [Oyler SS
Talbot P Talbot P

Earl Weaver BOOTs SEA (5)

Bottom of fourth:
Gil, Hegan out
McNertney singles

Weaver does not
protest

Oyler pops out
Orioles do not
score in top of fifth

With a9-2 lead, Earl likely is not worried about Oyler
hitting another homer.
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Earl Weaver BOOTs SEA (6)

Lineups now are Bottom of fifth:
Dug Offici Rollins PH for
out cial Talbot singles
Harper 2B |Harper 2B .
: Harper singles,
Simpson CF [|Hegan 1B Rollins to 2nd

Comer RF Davis LF

. _ Simpson fans
Davis LF [|Simpson CF

Comer flies out

Gil 3B [|Comer  RF Davis doubles in 2
Hegan 1B ||Gl 3B Weaver objects
McNertney C  (McNertney C Simpson called out;
Oyler SS  |Oyler SS should be Gil
Talbot P Talbot P No runs score

Simpson out twice in three batters due to incorrect
ruling.

Pilots hit in official order for the rest of the game,
which iswon by Baltimore, 9-5

Perhaps Weaver “gambled” since he had the lead,
comfortable after the top of the 4"

Had chances to enforce BOOT in 1%, 2 and 4, but
decided to wait until he could take runs off the board.



Intentional BOOT

Browns at Tigers, 9/23/45

Hot day

Browns are leading 5-0 after 8

Browns P Nels Potter has a two-hitter going
Potter is due to lead off the top of the ninth
Luke Sewell tells him not to bat to get more rest

Don Gutteridge bats and makes an out, so no
protest

Potter retires side in order in bottom of ninth

Possible strategy: intentionally bypass aweak hitter
such as the pitcher in the #9 spot. If #1 hitter gets on, a)
small chance BOOT won't be recognized, b) if BOOT is
called, not much islost since #9 was quite likely to make an
out, and now #1 hits again.

If #1 makes an out, defensive team has a touch
decision. Call BOOT and have #1 hit again or let #2 hitter
come up, so further down lineup and closer to letting the
likely best hitters come up a batter sooner.

AL teams might want to do thisin interleague gamesto
keep pitchers from getting hurt batting. NL teams with
relievers who amost never bat (e.g. Nats’ Roenis Elias); If
pitcher camein as part of (faux) double switch, other team
might not notice the BOOT if pitcher does not come up.
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What were umps thinking?

Dodgers at Cubs, 9/24/64
Ernie Banks at 1B batting #5 on official card

John Boccabella starts at first in his place, an
unannounced sub, takes over #5 spot

Bats in #5 spot, grounds out in 2nd, 4th

Santo (#4), Boccabella (#5) triple in 6t

Alston says BOOT, umps agree, call Banks out!!!
Boccabella has RBI single in 8t, no protest
Cubs score two in ninth to win 4-3

Rookie ump John Kibler was behind the plate in an NL
game for only the second time. Alston and Durocher decide
to test umpire, but have a player ask crew chief Frank
Secory (at 2B) if aBOOT could be called, and was told yes!

Bob Kennedy, the Cubs acting coach was not aware of
the unannounced substitution rule and only found out about
it an inning later from a member of the front office staff. It
was too late to protest then. It would have been upheld, but
was not necessary.

Ernie Banksis charged with making an out in agame he
never appeared in!

Alston admitted that he was afraid the Cubs would
protest and possibly cost his team awin. Maybe because
both teams were not in the race, #7 and #8, ahead of only
the two expansion teams, he thought they could have some
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fun.
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Team calls BOOT on itself

Reds at Cardinals, 8/21/53
Ray Jablonski (#4) is due up to start 2nd
Steve Bilko (#5) hits instead, grounds out

Cards manager Stanky points out BOOT to HP
ump Bill Stewart

Jablonski, the proper batter, is called out
Bilko bats again and homers!

Should not have been allowed since only the
other team can protest the BOOT

Thiswas before the 1957 rules update and
clarifications, but | think the understanding was that the
other team had to protest. This case illustrates why since
Cards gained advantage by having #5 hitter bat again rather
than the #6 hitter who would have been the proper batter.
Did not find anything about thisin TSN other than saying
what happened in brief game summary.

Cards won game 4-0 behind a Harvey Haddix four-
hitter.

Asbest | cantell, Reds did not protest. It would have
been interesting to seeif it would have been upheld.

Similar to Dallas Green, Dusty Baker homer one
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presented last year.
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Web sites, e-mail

https://www.retrosheet.org/outturn.htm
has list of BOOTs, some are amazing

www.pankin.com/baseball.htm

E-mail: sabr --ATsign-- pankin.com

Plan to post slides, notes on my web site
and on Retrosheet.org Research page

My baseball page focuses on the mathematical Markov model and its applications, the most
“famous’ of which is optimizing the batting order.

Replace --ATsign-- with @

22



